Shocked

I am in a reading class that we have to do a lot of field work with kids from a school in Regina.  We are doing one on one tutoring sessions for six weeks.  Today I got to meet my student for the first time.  He is a very kind person and I think that I am going to learn a lot from him and from working with him.

One thing that I was shocked about today was that he told me he has never really been on a computer.  I was shocked!  I thought to myself, how can a child born in the 21st century never have been on a computer?  Automatically I thought that I need to start bringing my computer every day and showing this kid what he is missing out on.  After thinking about this for a longer period of time, I am wondering if I should or should not be teaching this child about computers.  On one side of the argument for bringing my computer I think that maybe these skills may be useful to him in the future.  On the other side of the argument, the student is hoping to move back to his home and continue training horses.  I wonder if he will ever need these skills in his life.

I am not sure what to do…!?!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shocked

  1. Daniella Tiefenbach says:

    I think that if you are willing to take your computer, or if you can get onto one of the computers at the school, it woudl be a great idea. No matter where this kid ends up, technological skills might be beneficial. It will also give you another literacy to focus on. I was talking to the teacher of my student and she stated that since many of the students at that school have poor fine motor skills and keyboarding helps them get thier ideas across. I think that it will be beneficial for your student to experience computers because they are becoming more prominent in our society.

  2. Alec Couros says:

    I agree – I think it would be a great idea. The digital divide is real today, and your help would certainly benefit this child.

Leave a Reply

