There’s a Boy in Here

I just finished reading There’s a Boy in Here.  This book was written by Sean and Judy Barron.  Sean has autism.  This is a novel that discusses his journey of controlling the disease.  It was an amazing book to read!

Sean is able to control his autism.  He says that he has not been cured of the disorder but he works daily at not letting his fixations control his life.  Here is a quote from Sean’s mother Judy.  “There was no sudden “awakening,” no clap of thunder that changed our son into a “normal” person.  It was hard work and it took time.  Everything had to be named, its function described.  Many things still do.” (Barron, 2002)

I know that sometime in my teaching career I will have an autistic student.  This novel was eye-opening and gave me some first-hand knowledge of this disease that will be useful in the future.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to There’s a Boy in Here

  1. srcampbell says:

    Have you read “House Rules” by Jodi Picoult? It it told first person through the eyes of a boy with aspergers syndrome. I highly recommend it! 🙂

  2. For EPSY 322, I watched the movie Rain Man – in which one of the main characters is a young autistic man. For me, this movie was an eye-opener because I don’t know a lot about autism, or have ever worked with an autistic student – but just like you said, sometime in my teaching career I will have an autistic student, so I need to learn!

  3. Alec Couros says:

    Thanks for the tip on the novel – sounds really great!

Leave a Reply

