Do You Teach or Educate?

Watch this video!

After watching this video think back to your education experience.  Were you taught or educated?  I think that it is easier for the teacher to teach information, but to teach the student to critically think and inquire is a lot more difficult.  I know growing up I was taught with rote teaching.  Information was given to me and I was not taught how to experience learning. 

To fast forward to today, I know the kind of teacher that I want to be.  I want to learn as much from my students as they learn from me.  I want my students to take risks and try new things even if they don’t work. 

What kind of teacher do you want to become?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Do You Teach or Educate?

  1. rlukan says:

    What a powerful video! That is so awesome! I, too, would agree that I was taught as a child, for the most part anyway. I loved the part about empowering and guiding students to learn. Teachers’ jobs are to help students the ways they learn, so that they can teach themselves all throughout their lives.

    Thanks for sharing this!

Leave a Reply

